Katsina: S’court Sacks 2 Senators, 8 Reps

The Supreme Court yesterday sacked two senators and eight House of Representatives who are members of the Senator Yakubu Garba Lado faction of the Katsina state chapter of the Congress for Progressive Change (CPC), thereby affirming the decision of the Court? of Appeal in Abuja.

The apex court also affirmed the decision of the Court of Appeal,? which held that Senator Nurudeen Abatemi-Usman? was validly elected as the candidate representing? Kogi state central senatorial district in the? April 9 , 2011 senatorial election.

Those affected by yesterday’s judgment of the apex court on Katsina State include, Senators Abdu Umar ‘Yandoma and Ahmad Sani Stores, representing Katsina North and Katsina Central senatorial districts respectively, Representatives Murtala Isa of Sabuwa-Faskari-Kankara federal constituency, Muntari Dandutse of Funtua-Dandume constituency.

Others include Musa Salisu, representing Kankia-Kusada-Ingawa, Aminu Ashiru of Mani-Bindawa Federal constituency, and Umar Adamu Katsayal, of Daura-Mai’adua-Sandamu constituency in the House of Reps.

The rest are Muhammad Tukur, Katsina Central, Tasi’u Doguro, Mashi-Dutsi constituency,and Abdu Dankama representing Jibia-Kaita federal constituency.

Consequently, the apex court declared Sadiq Yar’Adua of Katsina central Senatorial District and Hadi A Sirika of Katsina North senatorial district as senators.

The new House of Reps members are Isa Lawal Doro-Mani/ Bindawa constituency, Sani Bello Mashi- Mashi/ Dutsi constituency, Abbas Machika- Kankara/ Faskari/ Sabuwa constituency and Dr Mansur Abdulkadir Funtua/ Dandume constituency. Others are Ahmed Usman Babba- Kankia/Kusada/ Ingawa Federeal Constitutency, Salisu Salisco, Kaita/ Jibiya constituency, Shiek Umar Abubakar, Katsina Central federal constituency and Salisu Ado Daura, Daura/ Maiaduwa/ Sandamu constituency,?
The? three-man panel? consisted of Justices Muhammed Garba Lawal, Jimi Bada and Regina Obiageli? of the Appeal Court in Abuja had? upheld Masari’s appeal against the de cision of a Federal High Court which held that Lado was the authentic CPC governorship candidate for Katsina State, as well as the senatorial and House of Reps candidates respectively.

Justice Bada said that the lower court erred in law when it failed to consider the affidavit and documentary evidence of the CPC, saying the Board of Trustees (BoT) of the party had the final say as to who was the candidate of the party in any election.

The appellate court averred that the party’s constitution and guidelines are binding? on the 1st to 43rd Respondents and the Party’s primary election held on January 15, 2011 never had the sanction of the CPC’s National Executive Committee (NEC) or the Board of Trustees”.

The court further held that the Katsina State chairman of the party who forwarded the name of Lado and 46 other candidates of the party to the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) had no such powers and had usurped the functions of the Board of Trustees, adding that the primaries held on January 13, 2011, was won by Masari and sanctioned by the party was the recognised party primary.