Opposition Parties Fault Niger Assembly Over Sale Of Government Properties

Share this with friends...

The members of the three major opposition political parties in Niger State have resolved to? challenge the state House of Assembly on sales of government properties.

The Chairmen of the All Nigeria People Party (ANPP), Action Congress of Nigeria (ACN ) and Congress for Progressive Change (CPC) Hajiya Jummai Mohammed , Captain Isah Mokwa and Mallam Umar Shuaibu respectively, said in a joint press conference in Minna that they were ready to work for the good of the state.

The position of the parties read by the Chairman of CPC stated that the acts and legislation of Niger State House of Assembly was anti people and had remained the puppet of the executive hence the House has been docile to the detriment of the development of the state.

Shuaibu said as the parties had resolved to form a common front for the development of the state, the state House of Assembly should rise to the occasion and exercise power conferred on it by the 1999 constitution to order the government to stay further action on the sale of some government properties.

According to the political parties, the sale of the 57 houses at the commissioners’ quarters was not provided for in the budget and the House must come out clean to tell the people that the planned sale was against section 121(2) of the country’s constitution which accorded the sales? no legal framework.

?“It is with deep sense of responsibility that we call on the Honourable members of the House of Assembly to show character by seizing this opportunity to disabuse the minds of the general public of all insinuations that they are at the beck and call of the governor,” they posited.

The parties further maintained that the actions of the legislatures does not reconcile with the feeling of the people? adding that if the members were truly representing the people they must try to put the interest of the people first.

The news conference was attended by the governorship candidates of ANPP, David Umar and that of CPC, Alhaji Shettima Bako as well as the deputy Governorship Candidate of CAN, Alhaji Abdullahi Nasir Ndafogi.


Share this with friends...