President of the Senate, David Mark yesterday called for a reduction in the number of Nigerian embassies and missions abroad for effective and adequate funding.

Also, the senate confirmed former Foreign Affairs Minister, Ojo Maduekwe, former Minister of Aviation, Fidelia Njeze, Esther Audu and 80 others as ambassadors.

Others who were confirmed as non-career ambassadors are: Hon. James Barka, Adamawa; Chief Asam Asam(SAN), Akwa Ibom; Mr. Okwudili Nwosu, Anambra; Mr. Okeke Chukwuemeka, Anambra; Mr. Eric Aworahbi, Bayelsa;? Chive Kaave, Benue; Dauda Danladi, Borno; Mrs. Katherine Okon, Cross River; Hon Nwofe Alexander, Ebonyi; Princess Victorial Bosede Onipede, Ekiti; Sen. Haruna Garba, Gombe; Mrs. Nonye Rajis-Okpara, Imo; Chief Eddy Onuoha, Imo; Mr. Adamu Babangida Ibrahim, Katsina; Alhaji Tukur Mani, Katsina; Mr. Biodun Olorunfemi, Kogi; Mr. Olatokumboh Kamson, Lagos; Dr. Sam Jimba, Nasarawa; and Mr. Cornelius Oluwateru, Ondo.
Others are Col. Roland Omowa, Ondo; Mr. Akinyemi Faroubi, Osun; Alhaji Taofeek Arapaja, Oyo; Mrs. Matilda Kwashi, Plateau; Senator Abdalah Wali, Sokoto and Senator Lawan Guba, Yobe.

All the career ambassadors nominated were cleared by the committee and the Senate at plenary which confirmed the 56 nominees.

However, the senators dropped two of the nominees – Matthias Okafor from Ebonyi State and Sifawu Inu-Umoru from Edo State. The duo were asked to appear before the Foreign Affairs Committee next week while wife of late Dim Chukwuemeka Ojukwu, Bianca is to face the panel at a convenient time due to the on-going funeral rites of her husband.

Addressing the floor after the confirmation process, Mark said he didn’t believe it was rational that, “We must keep all the missions… Personally, I don’t believe we must keep all the missions. When you travel out, you are confronted with myriads of problem.

You have a situation where an ambassador’s car breaks down on the road because of inadequate funding.