Ministry Of Agric Begins Relase Of Relief Material To Flood Victims On Monday

Share this with friends...

The Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Development will on Monday commence the release of 40,000 tonnes of assorted foodstuffs as part of Federal Government’s relief package to flood victims, a statement said in Abuja on Friday.

The Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Development said in the statement that the measure was part of the N9.7 billion Flood Food Recovery Production Plan to support farmers affected by floods.

The statement, signed by Mr Salisu Dambatta, the Director of Information, said the foodstuffs would be released simultaneously from 10 of the country’s National Strategic Food Reserve silos, in 1,333 trucks, for delivery to victims in the states and FCT.

The food items are maize, millet, gari, and sorghum to be distributed free to state governments, the statement said.

It said? Benue, Plateau, Adamawa, Oyo, Kogi, Bayelsa, Delta, and Anambra states? in category “A” would receive 50 truck-loads of foodstuff.

It said states in category B, namely Lagos, Imo, Bauchi, Kano, Jigawa, Nasarawa, Kaduna, Taraba, Niger, Cross River and Edo, would get 40 truckloads.

The statement said states in category C, comprising Ebonyi, Rivers, Kwara, Abia, Ogun, Ondo, Gombe and Katsina, would receive 30 truckloads.

It said those in category D, consisting of? Borno, Yobe, Enugu, Ekiti, Osun, Zamfara, Kebbi, Sokoto, Akwa Ibom and FCT,? would get 25 truckloads.

It stated that the release of the consignments would? be performed by the Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development, Dr Akinwumi Adesina, in? Ogoja, Cross River.

It said the Minister of State for Agriculture and Rural Development, Mr Bukar Tijani, would release the consignment for Plateau and Gombe, while the Permanent Secretary, Mrs ibukun Odusote, would handle the assignment in Ibadan.

According to the release, regional directors and state directors of Agriculture will conduct similar exercises on Wednesday and Thursday at Jahun, Jigawa, , Irrua, Edo,? Minna ,Makurdi, Ilorin and Akure.


Share this with friends...