The Nigeria Basketball Federation (NBBF) has released list of teams to participate at the Round 1 of the 9th edition of the Zenith National Women’s Basketball League slated for the Indoor Sports Hall, National Stadium, Package ‘B’ Abuja from March 21 to 30. This season, sixteen teems drawn in two groups will slug it out in the first phase where at the end eight will qualify for playoffs. In Group A, the teams include defending champions First Deepwater of Lagos, Sunshine Angels, Nigeria Customs, FCT Angels and AHIP Queens of Kano. Others include, Coal City Queens, GT-2000 and Taraba Hurricanes.

In Group B, perennial powerhouse First Bank of Lagos will slug it out with Dolphins, Delta Force, Nigeria Immigration, Plateau Rocks and Benue Queens. Others are Oluyole Babes and Adamawa Super Flames. After the opening ceremony at 12 pm March 23, hostilities will commence at 4pm with a GROUP A clash of Angels between Sunshine Angels and FCT Angels to be followed by Group B duel involving????????? Dolphins of Lagos and Delta Force of Asaba. In subsequent actions, new comers Coal City Queens of Enugu will battle veterans AHIP Queens of Kano; Benue Queens of Makurdi Vs Oluyole Babes from Ibadan, while it will be war of neighbors between Adamawa Super Flames and Taraba Hurricanes.

The federation said more than 20 FCT Secondary Schools have been invited to witness the jump ball and draw inspiration for aspiring talents after which it will donate basketballs to the invited schools apart from the seminar planned for the invited Games Masters on the rudiments of coaching basketball.???