University of Lagos

Share this with friends...

The University of Lagos was founded in 1962 and is made up of two campuses, the main campus at Akoka, Yaba and the College of Medicine in Idi-Araba, Surulere.

Both sites are in the Mainland of Lagos. The main campus is largely surrounded by the scenic view of the Lagos lagoon and is located on 802 acres of land in Akoka, North Eastern part of Yaba, Lagos, the state of excellence and aquatic splendour.

From a modest intake of 131 students in 1962, enrolment in the university has now grown to over 39,000. It has a total staff strength of 3,365 made up of 1,386 Administrative and Technical Staff, 1,164 Junior and 813 Academic Staff.

The University is comprised of nine Faculties and a College of Medicine. The Faculties offer a total of 117 programmes in Arts, Social Sciences, Environmental Sciences, Pharmacy, Law, Engineering, Sciences, Business Administration and Education. UNILAG, as the university is fondly called also offers Master’s and Doctorate degrees in most of the aforementioned programmes.

The University also has two Centres namely the Centre for Human Rights and the Centre for African, Regional Integration and Borderland Studies. The Distance Learning Institute (DLI) of the University offers courses in Accounting, Business Administration, Science Education and Library / Information Sciences.

Contact – Information Points

Academic Matters
The Registrar,
5th Floor, Senate House, Unilag
Telephone:234 -1-7346354

Student Matters
Dean of Students Affairs
Students Affairs Office, Unilag
Telephone: 234-1-7339832

For More Information: Visit the school website here

Share this with friends...